Should

shouldI should all over myself.  A lot.

On a daily basis, I usually think one of the following…I should drink less sweet tea.  I should work out more.  I should spend more time in prayer. 

Sometimes I “should” my feelings.  I try to convince myself that I should feel a certain way about something… even when I don’t.

On a grander scale, I often “should” my life.  I often think thoughts like, “I should be married by now.” “I should be having kids by now (since thanks to facebook I now know that seemingly all of my classmates have multiple children).” “I should look into buying a house instead of throwing away rent money.” 

I should.  I should.  I should.

Maybe I need to stop should-ing and start living.

~ by Serena on July 1, 2009.

3 Responses to “Should”

  1. You SHOULD text Johnny more and you SHOULD let Johnny take you for a moto ride, that’s real freedom 🙂

  2. I’ve heard it said that life is what happens while we’re waiting for life to happen.

  3. Aaaahh… Dear Serena! I Should all over the place, all the time! haha! It was 91st Street that pointed that fact out to me. Now, I can hear it every time I say it. ~ Bless your heart, You’re not alone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
