Out of Balance

Washing machine

Today I’m posting my first ever guest blog!  When I asked for suggestions, topics, (etc) on my 100! blog, my friend Seth sent me the following.  I couldn’t have said it any better.  Thanks, Seth.

This morning I put a load of laundry in the washer. I figured it would be a good time to get in a study of God’s Word. I sat down and several minutes later, I heard the sound of my washer beeping.

Now, this isn’t your grandma’s washer. It comes complete with LCD screens, text displays, and little animated graphics. I’ve heard this beeping before because I tend to put too many towels in the washer at the same time.

Typically, the washer seems to have a problem while I’m spending time with God. (Some would say smarten up a bit and don’t try to run a whole load of towels, but somehow I think that would take too long.) I always thought of it as Satan’s way of distracting me.

Today, I went in and saw the little man on the screen jumping up and down with text that says, “Help me! My load is out of balance. Please redistribute my load and press start.” I realized that perhaps it’s not Satan at all.  Perhaps it’s God telling me that my load is out of balance. I spend too much time surfing the internet, making and checking my to-do list and less time praying, reading, studying, and meditating on His Word.

Of course, my washer load is out of balance too. That’s quickly fixed by moving a few towels around and starting again. Thankfully, it’s not much more difficult to redistribute the load of life. It just takes time and discipline. God will lighten the load and take over once you make the change.

In what ways is your load out of balance?

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” -Matthew 11:28-30

~ by Serena on June 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “Out of Balance”

  1. When my washer occasionally makes those pounding sounds that let me know it is unbalenced (not having a washer with cute digital characters who spew instructions 😉 ), I now have another point to ponder while evening out the load. Thank you!

  2. I do too much and don’t rest enough

Leave a Reply

 
