Father’s Day

father_and_sonWhen I was in 8th grade, I submitted the following essay to a Father of the Year contest and won.  (My sister, who was a junior at the time, won the high school division with her essay, so Dad earned double honors.)  Although I wrote this 13 years ago, it still rings true today.  I love you, Dad!  Happy Father’s Day!

My father, Randy Thrush, should be Father of the Year because he is so deserving of this very special award. My father is so much more than a father to me; he is my friend and hero.

While growing up. every child faces many difficult challenges that vary with age. Through all  the challenges one faces, supportive and understanding parents are needed. I have been very blessed with mine.

Whether my challenge be overcoming nightmares or how to deal with problems at school, Dad has always been there for me, helping guide me through my problem. Whenever dad helps me, he has a gentle way about him, which makes it easier for me to understand what he is trying to tell me. Dad is always reassuring. Together, we decide what God might want me to do.

Since my family lives on a farm, Dad is usually busy with our pigs, fixing broken machinery, or working in the fields. When it is planting and harvest time, we see very little of dad. He is up with the sun and doesn’t get home until the sun has already set. Even though Dad is very busy on the farm, he is also very active in other areas. He is involved in the Lions club, four different bands, church choir, as well as many other church-related activities.

Dad is also very devoted to his job as a father. He is always willing to bandage a scraped knee or play catch. A few weeks ago, my little brother, David, found two baby birds that had been blown along with their nest out of a tree. Dad knew how much those helpless little birds meant to David, so he wired the nest back into the tree and placed the birds back into it.

My father means so much to me. He is hardworking, trustworthy, and everything a father should be, plus much more. I don’t know anyone more deserving of this award than my Dad.

~ by Serena on June 19, 2009.

4 Responses to “Father’s Day”

  1. another similarity…my dad’s name is Randy too!

  2. I’m sure your father is so proud of the lovely woman you’ve become!

  3. Awww… thanks, Angie. You’re too sweet.

Leave a Reply

 
