Rocks, Logs, and Splinters

StonesThe Phrarisees were ready to stone a woman caught in adultry when Jesus said, “If any one of you is without sin, let him be the first to throw a stone at her” (John 8: 7). 

Had I been there, I probably would have been the first in line with rock in hand. I’m the first to cry, “Justice!” when I hear of a crime.  I’m quickly ready to incriminate those of wrongdoing.  After all, they must pay for their actions.  (Sometimes I wonder if I would have made a good prosecuting lawyer.)

And yet perhaps I need to pay attention to the log in my own eye before I start condemning others for the splinters in theirs.

“Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brothers eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?” Matthew 7:3

~ by Serena on June 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
