The Cross

Cross at GraceI was leaving work last week when I noticed a Jeep parked by our large steel cross (that stands probably 15 feet tall) near the front of the church grounds.  I slowed down as I pulled around the vehicle. 

The closer I got, I realized that a woman had waded through the landscaping surrounding the cross and was hugging it.  I watched as she kissed it.  When she turned to walk away, I noticed that she was crying.  Before she returned to her vehicle, she faced the cross one more time, bowed twice, then crossed her forehead and chest (like Catholics do).

I wasn’t sure what to make of it in that moment.  I don’t know who she was, why she stopped, or what religious beliefs she has.  But I do know this.  She was moved by the cross.  She was drawn to it.  She respected it.  She needed it in that moment. 

…we all do.

~ by Serena on June 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
