Books

MonsterMost people are shocked to find out that I’m not a big reader.  Most of the time, I read because my counselor is making me or I need something to help me sleep.  There are a few, rare occasions that I am legitimately interested in a topic, but hardly ever have I picked up a fiction book of my own volition.  I just don’t get into them, including the trendy Twilight ones about vampires.

I just finished reading Boundaries by Cloud/Townsend.  Next on my bedstand is a re-read of The Search for Significance by Robert McGee.  Both are great books.

Here are a few of my all-time favorites…

The Monster at the End of this Book by Jon Stone – This is my favorite book from childhood.  I highly recommend it.  But watch out – there is a monster at the end of the book!

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee– I read this in 8th grade and have been a fan ever since.  Themes of bravery and prejudice are beautifully explored through the lives of loveable characters.

Captivating by John & Stacy Eldridge – Every woman should read this book.  Period.  Every man should read this book to discover more about the women in his life.  Period.

He’s Just Not That Into You by Behrendt/Tuccillo – My parents got me this for Christmas a few years ago.  What do you think they were not so subtly trying to tell me? 🙂  This tongue-in-cheek (but filled with good advice for women) phenomenon was made into a movie this past winter, but the book is a million times better.

Tuesdays With Morrie by Mitch Albom – This inspiring book is a must read.  Life lessons are bestowed through the last class of a beloved college professor.  I cry like a baby every time.   

 
What are your favorite books?

~ by Serena on June 10, 2009.

6 Responses to “Books”

  1. 100! Blog update…

    T.R. suggested a post about books… check!

    “Vampires” was a suggested word…check!

  2. I just finished Quiet Strength by Tony Dungy – it was great!

  3. I admittedly did a quick scan of this blog, looking for the one book I just KNEW would be on the list. But no such luck. RIP If You Give a Mouse a Cookie. 😦

  4. The Monster at the end of this book is indeed a classic. When going through old books at my mother’s house, I came across it and relived my joy of reading it one last time. Grover, you are this generations Bronte.

    Too much? Ok, this generations Twain. Brilliant nonetheless.

  5. What about Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers – or And the Shofar Blew??

  6. true story: the only play I’ve ever voluntarily gone to see, “Tuesday’s with Morrie”. I got free tickets to the IRT and it happened to be playing at that time, so I figured why not? i’ll probably never read the book, but I definitely dug the lessons within it.

Leave a Reply

 
