Storms of Life

stormI don’t like storms.  They are powerful forces that can destruct most anything manmade, evidenced by the massive amounts of damage in Fishers due to the colossal storm that ripped through town last week.   Windows were shattered.  Storm drains were clogged with debris, flooding roads.  Cars were dented with hail.

Storms are powerful, and they scare me.  The disciples were equally scared when they were out on a boat with Jesus and “a furious storm came up on the lake, so that the waves swept over the boat” (Matthew 8:24).  I find it so fitting that while the disciples were freaking out, Jesus was fast asleep.  When they wake him, he calmly replies, “You of little faith, why are you so afraid?” (Matthew 8:26).

When the storms of life rage, I often find myself freaking out like the disciples.  Logically, I know that Jesus has everything under control, and yet in that moment, my fear takes over.  I wonder if God has fallen asleep in the back of the boat, so to speak…I wonder if He has forgotten about me.  I’m sure He could have repeated the same to me countless times, “Serena, you of little faith, why are you so afraid?” 

And yet it’s through those experiences that I’m able to experience His peace.  As Scott Krippayne’s song Sometimes He Calms the Storm says, “Sometimes He calms the storm, with a whispered peace be still.  He can settle any sea, but it doesn’t mean He will.  Sometimes He holds us close and lets the wind and waves go wild.  Sometimes He calms the storm, and other times He calms His child.”

How do you handle the storms of life?

~ by Serena on June 8, 2009.

One Response to “Storms of Life”

  1. “Storm drain” were suggested words from my 100! blog. I’m chipping away at my list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
