Like a Child

mmsMy sister called me last week and said that my niece had something exciting she wanted to tell me.  I fully expected to hear, “I’m going to be a big sister!” 

Instead, I heard, “I got M&Ms!”  As much as I love M&Ms, I have to admit, I was slightly disappointed.

“Tell her how you earned the M&Ms,” my sister prompted.

“I went poopy in the potty!” I could hear the excitement in her voice.

I’m not sure if she was more thrilled about the M&Ms or the accomplishment.  Either way, I love that she’s so enthralled with such simple things – chocolate candies and potty training.

One of my friends told me about a similar experience with her niece.  The two-year old walked to a window, looked out, noticed a bird and said, “Hello, Mr. Robin.  How are you today?”

I love that she can see something as simple as a bird and want to interact with it. 

I can’t tell you the last time I talked to a bird.  But I’m guessing I said something like, “Get out of my way, or I’m going to hit you with my car, Bird!” 

Their childish innocence and enthusiasm for life is precious.  As adults, we often overlook the small things that children are just learning to experience and enjoy.  Perhaps we could learn a thing or two from the two-year-olds of the world.

“I tell you the truth, unless you become like a child, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” -Matthew 18:3

~ by Serena on May 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “Like a Child”

  1. I can’t agree more with this: “Their childish innocence and enthusiasm for life is precious. As adults, we often overlook the small things that children are just learning to experience and enjoy. Perhaps we could learn a thing or two from the two-year-olds of the world.”

    It is so much fun to see the things that my toddler gets excited about or notices. It makes me smile so much. When I organized my necklaces differently, for example, to me it was finding a way to be able to get to it easier and have them all in one spot since the chunky ones were not fitting in my jewelery box. I hung them on a wrought-iron-looking tree thing (hard to explain). When he saw it, however, it was apparently very exciting because he said “wow!”

  2. At the age of “almost ten,” our girls still have those M&M moments from time to time, and I need to remember to recognize them as such. The two of us wonder how much longer they’ll want us to keep singing Jesus Loves Me before bed each night…

Leave a Reply

 
