Geese

GooseSpring has sprung!  And with that comes the Canadian geese.

Most people around Grace hate our Canadian goose friends.  They walk in front of our cars as we’re trying to leave.  They pollute our pond.  If you get too close to their nests during hatching season, they will attack.

But I like geese.  They are beautiful creatures, from their coloring to their aerodynamic feathers (I’m jealous of any animal that can fly).  Geese remind me of my grandparents, who frequently have them grazing around their pond. 

And we have much to learn from them.  Did you know that…

-Geese fly in a “V” shape because they can fly 71% farther than if each bird flew on its own.  We can do more together.

-When a goose falls out of formation, it suddenly feels the drag of trying to go it alone and quickly gets back into its spot to take advantage of the lifting power of the bird in front of it.  As Christians, we weren’t made to “go it alone.”  It’s why Eve was created for Adam.  We were made to be in relationship with one another.

-When a goose gets sick or is wounded and falls out of formation, two geese follow to help and protect.  They stay together until the sickly goose is able to fly or has died.  Sometimes it’s good to get a little help from our friends.

-Geese honk from behind to help those up front to keep up their speed.  Are you good at “honking” words of encouragement?

~ by Serena on May 19, 2009.

2 Responses to “Geese”

  1. I almost got attacked by one at Grace….it was all Kiel’s fault. I wet myself.

  2. See Serena! I keep telling you, geese, even though they can be annoying at times, are fascinating!

    I’ll tell you what, you may think I’m easily amused by taking pictures of animals. BUT, I think it’s more of a fascination with the way God has created animals that draws me to them.

    P.S. In response to Johnny’s comment, I believe he was the one that got out of the car and did the Karate Kid stance in front of the goose, leading to the attack. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
