13.1

ToughWe did it!  (And we were feeling pretty tough. :))

David and I ran 13.1 miles in 2 hours and 25 minutes, 5 minutes ahead of my goal.  We enjoyed the beautiful scenery around Geist.  We encouraged each other when we were feeling weak, especially on those dreadful hills.  We laughed together at the three amigos who offered us beer and cupcakes around mile 11.  It was a good day.

Over the last two weeks, there were times that I felt like I was throwing a proverbial 27-year-old temper tantrum with God.  Sure, I was grateful for another race, but I was frustrated that I didn’t get to run the race I wanted and planned on.  I may never understand why I wasn’t supposed to be there that day…

…but now that it’s all said and done, I’m thankful.  I’m thankful I got to run with my brother during his first half-marathon.  I’m thankful the rain held off until mile 12.  I’m thankful I beat my personal goal and shaved 20 minutes off of last year’s time, even on a more difficult course.  In a strange way, I’m thankful God didn’t answer my prayers for healing prior to the Mini.

I’m not a country music fan, but Garth Brooks’ song Unanswered Prayers comes to mind.  The chorus says, “Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers.  Remember when you’re talkin’ to the Man Upstairs, That just because He doesn’t answer doesn’t mean He don’t care.  Some of God’s greatest gifts are unanswered prayers.”

Thanks, God… for unanswered prayers.

~ by Serena on May 18, 2009.

5 Responses to “13.1”

  1. Look at that tough sassy picture!! I’m so proud of you Serena! Way to go at beating your personal best and your goal!!! You know, being burnt out on running is only grounds for getting involved in a triathlon. 🙂 Did you take a cupcake?

  2. you go girl! 🙂

    you have much to be proud of!

  3. Hehe… no cupcakes, beer, or triathalons! 🙂

  4. I’m proud of your perseverance Serena 🙂 And FYI, you’re hot!!

  5. […] Running the Mini – In May, I completed my third half-marathon with my brother.  Geist wasn’t the race I originally anticipated, but God apparently had other plans. […]

Leave a Reply

 
