“Won’t you be my neighbor?”

mister_rogersWhen I was little, I loved visiting friends who lived in subdivisions.  I thought it was the coolest thing in the world to be able to walk to a neighbor’s house, especially when the neighbor happened to be a friend from school.  Growing up in the country, our nearest neighbor was my grandparents, one mile down the road. 

As an apartment dweller, I currently have lots of neighbors, and unfortunately, they’ve lost their luster from my childhood.  I’m sad to tell you that I’ve had very few conversations with them.  Sure, we’ll flash a neighborly smile as we pass each other on the sidewalk.  I’ll wave to the old guy who lives across the lawn and often sits on his patio. 

I know most of my neighbors by their vehicles and what apartment numbers they live in.  John likes to blare his music in his truck.  I often see him grilling on his deck.  Mary can’t park her Saturn straight to save her life.  She owns a Yorkshire Terrier.  Joe is divorced and has 3 sons.  He drives a mini-van.

…but do they know my Jesus? 

The song This Little Light of Mine comes to mind.  “This little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine!”

My light isn’t shining very brightly if it doesn’t even penetrate the walls of my apartment…

“In the same way, let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven.” -Matthew 5:16

~ by Serena on May 14, 2009.

4 Responses to ““Won’t you be my neighbor?””

  1. walking dogs is both a great way to get some exercise and meet some neighbors…maybe you need some dogs 😉

    great thoughts…but now I’ve been walking through my office whistling that song! Ahhh!!

  2. The song is going through my head too… I love Mister Rogers! You know, I find that as summer comes closer, there is more opportunity to get to meet and chat with neighbors a bit. I don’t foresee a dog being the best of “neighbors” for your cats… a valid idea, though?

  3. I don’t foresee any dogs in my future. Maybe I could walk my cats? HA! 🙂

  4. I’ve not had a cat myself (family with allergies), but I cannot imagine any cat I’ve ever known “going for a walk.” 😉

Leave a Reply

 
