The Little Red Haired Girl

redhaired-girlNot surprisingly, my favorite character from the Peanuts gang is the Little Red Haired Girl.  She’s the beauty who has captured the heart of our dear friend Charlie Brown.  She has no name, other than that which defines her hair color.

I can relate to her.  As a little girl, I remember walking through the grocery store with Mom and hearing, “Look at the red haired girl!”  It was like I had leprosy, and people wanted to stare.  When I would visit my great-grandparents at the nursing home as a child, patients would reach out and try to touch my hair.  I felt like an animal at the petting zoo.  

Thankfully, I don’t get “petted” as much now that I’m older.  But as an adult, I’m often judged by my hair color.  Most people with red hair are known for having a fiery temper.  I may be a little feisty at times, but I would never claim to have a temper.

To this day, I’m still often referred to as the “redhead.”  Honestly, I don’t get it.  My hair is more orange than red.  And it’s not like we call the rest of you people out there “yellowhead” or “brownhead.”  You get more distinguished-sounding names like blonde and brunette.  *Humph

Having red hair ia a fairly easily distinguishable trait that I have, and yet I would love to instead be referred to by my name – or the girl who has a heart for God – or something that highlights a characteristic that is perhaps more honorable than just my hair color.

Oh, well.  Maybe I should be thankful that I have hair…and that people aren’t calling me worse names. 🙂

~ by Serena on May 7, 2009.

6 Responses to “The Little Red Haired Girl”

  1. We all had our nicknames growing up. Mine was freckles. What matters is who we are, not what others call us. God loves each and every one of us and knows our “unique” traits intimately.

  2. I can tell you have daughters. You’ve had this talk a few times, haven’t you? 🙂

  3. My nickname with my family was “bucket head”. When I was 7 or 8, I got a steel milk pail/bucket stuck on my head…the name stuck too.

  4. I have had this talk and will continue to have the talk with my daughters. 🙂

  5. whatever you say orangehead 😉

  6. That’s more like it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
