Because He Lives

is_8800707868I worshiped at our small Methodist Church in Wabash on Easter.  It was a blessing to be back, to see familiar faces, ones (in many cases) who have known me since I was born. 

We sang familiar Easter hymns – Christ the Lord is Risen Today; He Lives; and He Arose.  Perhaps the one I look forward to the most is Because He Lives.  We were singing the chorus when I noticed out of my peripheral vision a single hand raised in praise and offering. 

I turned and saw that it belonged to John, a gentle-spirited man whose beloved wife Jane died in January.  Tears filled my eyes as I watched him sing the meaningful words to this song with all of his heart.  I can’t imagine the sorrow that he faces every single day, and yet…

Because He lives, John can face tomorrow
Because He lives, John’s fear is gone
Because John knows, He holds the future
And John’s life is worth the living, just because He lives.

~ by Serena on May 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
