Discipline

minimarathonTomorrow I will be one of 35,000 to take part in the OneAmerica 500 Festival Mini-Marathon, the largest half-marathon in the U.S.! 

For the most part, I like running.  But as I’ve increased my mileage in preparation for the race, it has become a chore.  Forcing my body to go beyond its limits is not something that I necessarily enjoy.  And let’s face it, there are days that my body just doesn’t want to move, let alone run. 

After finishing a 10 mile jaunt in Wabash a few weeks ago, I sprawled out on the living room floor, sweat pouring off my exhausted body.  Mom looked at me and said something like, “Remind me why you’re doing this again.”

I’ve had to remind myself of those reasons numerous times over the last several months. 

Training for the Mini has become a discipline.  It gives me a goal to work toward.  It forces me to be dedicated in my workouts, even when I really don’t want to be.  There were days that I was at the gym out of sheer determination.  There were days I didn’t think I could take one more step on the treadmill.  And yet, I knew I had to put in the time and miles in order to finish well.  (Let’s be honest, I’m not going to beat out any Kenyans tomorrow, but I do have a target time in mind.)

But it doesn’t stop there.  I cut caffeiene out of my diet as of Wednesday.  Yesterday started my carbo-loading.  And with my plethora of shoes, I’ve limited myself to non-heels the last two days.  After all, the last thing I need to do is twist an ankle simply by stepping wrong in a pair of stilettos.  Now that’s discipline. 🙂

~ by Serena on May 1, 2009.

2 Responses to “Discipline”

  1. great job on your preparation…you’ll do great tomorrow!

  2. Hi friend. Miss you lots. I hope you’re feeling better. Are you taking on the Geist 1/2 marathon in a couple weeks? I’m really proud of you Serena, for training so well and also for having a great deal of wisdom the morning of the race. I respect you so much. I’m itching to talk to you and hope we connect this week. love you friend
    – kelly

Leave a Reply

 
