Plans

plannerI’m a planner. 

I like to make plans.  To schedule things out.  To look to the future and know that it’s (for the most part) in order.  (Perhaps this is why I work in project management?)

I’ve always been a planner.  In high school, my “plan” for my life was to move to a big city, have a high-paying job, and mother lots of cats.  Fishers isn’t quite a booming metropolis (though it is growing).  Working for a non-profit isn’t paving the way for me to become a millionaire any time soon.  I do have two cats, though.  We see how well my plans worked out. 

Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord.  Plans to prosper you and not to harm you.  Plans to give you a hope and a future.”

Who makes the plans?  God.  Not me. 

I often concoct plans that I think will be best, in all my un-infinite wisdom.  And yet it’s HIS plans that will give me a hope and a future.  Perhaps I’ll stick to those. 

A.W. Tozer said, “God is looking for people through whom He can do the impossible.  What a pity we plan only the things we can do by ourselves.”

~ by Serena on April 29, 2009.

One Response to “Plans”

  1. I am not a planner if you did not know that.

Leave a Reply

 
