Moved to Tears

tear1I watched part of the NFL Draft on Saturday.  I was somewhat surprised to see one of the draftees cry when his name was called.  To some, this could have been perceived as a sign of weakness.  Not me.  I found it refreshing.

Perhaps this 6’2”, 250 pound linebacker was relieved to get drafted by the team he wanted.  Perhaps he was overjoyed at his pending $15 million contract.  Perhaps he recognized that this was a dream come true.  Regardless, he was deeply touched and moved to tears.  

One of my manly friends doesn’t like to cry.  On the rare occasions that I’ve seen tears pooling in his eyes, he quickly forces them away.  After which I’ve heard him say, “Don’t tell anyone you saw that.  I have a reputation to keep.”  (Does posting it on my blog count as not telling anyone if I don’t disclose his name? 🙂)  My friend isn’t a whimp, but he doesn’t like to show emotion in that way.  He sees it as a weakness, not as an expression of being deeply moved.

John 11:35 says, “Jesus wept.”  I think this verse was included in the Scriptures as more than just an easily  memorized  Bible verse for 3rd graders.  Jesus was deeply moved at the passing of his friend, Lazarus.  It doesn’t say that he just shed a tear or two… it says that he wept.  If Jesus, the Son of God, whom we are called to be like, was moved to tears and expressed it freely… shouldn’t we? 

~ by Serena on April 28, 2009.

2 Responses to “Moved to Tears”

  1. The Rich Mullins song “Growing Young” (from The World as Best I Remember It, Vol. 2) says “Everybody used to tell me big boys don’t cry, but I’ve been around enough to know that that was the lie that held back the tears in the eyes of a thousand prodigal sons…”

  2. I think I know the same guy….he’s a puss-bucket. In fact…he just told me how much he misses you, to which I told him to stop being such a girl and man up.

Leave a Reply

 
