Ugh.

mcdonaldsI was having a rough morning a few weeks ago.  I hadn’t gotten much sleep the night before, and to top it off, it was dreary and rainy, which right off the bat negatively influences my mood. 

My energy was waning, so I pulled through the drive-thru at McDonald’s for an iced coffee.  Surely that would help perk up my day.

Apparently 20 other people also had this brilliant idea.  I waited in line for 10 minutes.  (No exaggeration.)  I was watching the clock, somewhat impatiently, since I was now on the verge of being late for work.  Great.

When I finally got to the ordering kiosk, I was told, “Our machine is broken, so we can only accept cash.” 

You’ve got to be kidding me, I thought as I imagined myself crawling through the microphone and strangling the person on the other end.  I stopped carrying cash when I was mugged a few years ago, so all I had was paper (a check) or plastic (credit cards). 

And so after a frustratingly long wait, I drove through the drive-thru, empty-handed, craving caffeine, and late for work. 

On the morning I needed you the most, you let me down, McDonalds…

Ugh.

~ by Serena on April 27, 2009.

3 Responses to “Ugh.”

  1. “You deserve a break today at McDonalds” – oh wait 😉

  2. Wowsers.

  3. Serena, this has so happened to me before. Seriously, what is cash?? People still carry that?

Leave a Reply

 
