Commitment

bumper-stickersI think I have commitment issues…beyond the kind that I can blame on my ex-husband.

I’ll never put a bumper sticker on my car.  They’re too permanent (unless they’re the magnetic kind).  The only thing I can think of that I would have any lasting attachment over the next 10 years would be shoes and God… and it’s not like He wants my car associated with Him as I’m running a red light.

I’ll probably never get a tattoo.  I briefly considered getting one in college, but I got my bellybutton pierced instead. I didn’t want to commit to an ink design on my body that I may not like in 5 years.  (I can easily take out my bellybutton stud any time I please.)   

My boss asked me just last week if I’ve considered purchasing a home with the mortgage rates and market as good as it is right now.  I probably should be looking, at least for a condo (since I’m not excited about lawnwork/maintenance), but I’m not.  Why?  It’s commitment.  I love Fishers, and I have no plans to leave any time soon, but I don’t know what the future holds.  As it is now, I renew my apartment lease every 6 months, and I’m content with that.

Do you have commitment issues?

~ by Serena on April 20, 2009.

2 Responses to “Commitment”

  1. i think you should get a tat!!! but like you, i don’t know what it should say or where to put it.

  2. dude, don’t get inked. those are way too permanent and look ridiculous on people. I’m not sure why anyone would ever even consider that.

    as for me: commitment issues are relationships. I get bored easily and can’t keep interest, but I feel like this is more due to my commitment issues than my actual interest factor.

Leave a Reply

 
