Mighty to Save

mighty-to-saveI was introduced to the song Mighty to Save (by Hillsong United) at Faith Quest #27 a few weeks ago.  It quickly became the theme song of our weekend.  The chorus says:

Savior, He can move the mountains
My God is mighty to save, He is mighty to save
Forever, Author of Salvation
He rose & conquered the grave, Jesus conquered the grave

So take me as you find me, All my fears & failures
Fill my life again, I give my life to follow
Everything I believe in, Now I surrender

Since this was a new song for me, I referred to the lyrics often.  During an especially moving moment, where nearly the whole room was either in tears or had hands raised, “I surrender” leapt off the page.

The words were no sooner off my lips than I stopped singing.  Tears flooded my eyes.  I surrender, I repeated.  I surrender.  My heart waved a white flag.  I surrender, God.  Everything.  Right now.  It’s all Yours.

Surrender is not something that comes naturally for me.  So take me as you find me.  Quite simply, I like to be in control.   All my fears and failures.  In that moment, I felt convicted that I had been trying to manipulate my life, to make things go as I desire, not necessarily as He wanted.  Fill my life again, I give my life to follow.

I wasn’t the only one who surrendered that weekend.  As Chapel Counselor, I was privileged to pray with trekkers after they nailed their hindrances to the cross and anoint them for whatever they requested. 

Depression.  Self-Esteem.  Dad’s unemployment.  Eating disorders.  Friends feuding.  Grandpa dying.  Changing schools.  Effects of past mistakes.

One girl approached me with tears in her eyes and said, I think I’m ready to accept Christ.  It was humbling to say the prayer of salvation with this young woman, to know that the angels in heaven were rejoicing for another soul that was saved.  Author of salvation.

Our God is Mighty to Save… indeed!

~ by Serena on April 14, 2009.

3 Responses to “Mighty to Save”

  1. great song and great thoughts!

    here’s the youtube video of “Mighty To Save”

    http://snurl.com/fvwqs [www_youtube_com]

  2. What a powerful song, it is amazing. Love it!

  3. […] Serving on Faith Quest – It’s always an honor to serve on this wonderful weekend.  This year, I was blessed to serve on two amazing teams.  […]

Leave a Reply

 
