Hymns

hymn1As much as I adore praise and worship music, I still love hymns.  They have a richness to them.  I feel a deep sense of heritage, since I grew up singing these songs next to my grandparents in our United Methodist Church.

Songs like Amazing Grace and Here I Am, Lord touch my soul.  How Great Thou Art makes me think of my Great-Grandma Binkerd who used to play it for us on the piano. 

My all-time favorite hymn is It Is Well With My Soul.  The first verse says,

When peace like a river,
attendeth my way,
when sorrows like sea billows roll;
whatever my lot, Thou has taught me to say,
it is well, it is well with my soul.

Perhaps most impressive is that this song was penned by a man named Horatio Spafford after several traumatic events.  Spafford’s only son died, followed by the great Chicago Fire, which ruined him financially. He sent his family to Europe and planned to follow, but the ship wrecked, killing his four daughters.  Spafford and his wife returned to the site of the accident, which is when he wrote (in my opinion) one of the most meaningful hymns ever composed.  Even in the midst of his pain and turmoil, Spafford found peace with God.

Is it well with your soul? 

~ by Serena on April 1, 2009.

7 Responses to “Hymns”

  1. I love that Hymn too, it falls second behind ‘How Great Thou Art’…just another thing we have in common!

  2. This is my all-time favorite hymn also! The melody and lyrics tend to run through my head and have a way of calming the soul.

  3. I love the fact God takes tragedy, sorrow, death, hopeless and brings His glory from such circumstances. It assures me that all is not lost in my own life. 1 Corinthians 1:26-30

  4. God’s good like that. 🙂 I’m praying for you, my friend…

  5. here’s one of my favorites…slightly updated…
    Jesus Paid it All

  6. Get out of town! That’s my favorite hymn, too! It’s amazing the times it begins to ring in my ears. Sometimes, I’ve rejoiced as I’ve heard and other times, wept as it wasn’t well and I knew I had a journey to take.
    Sometimes I pull out my hymnal and sing at the top of my lungs. You’re right, they have a richness too them.

  7. […] Is Well A few weeks ago, we sang It Is Well at church (as mentioned previously, it’s one of my favorite hymns).  I belted the words from the depths of my heart, “When […]

Leave a Reply

 
