Cravings

strawberry-pancakesA waitress at Cracker Barrel asked me if I was pregnant a few weeks ago. 

I woke up that particular morning craving pancakes with strawberries on top.  (I have to admit, I’m not usually one for breakfast foods, so this was an odd craving.) 

I decided Cracker Barrel would be a good choice.  It’s close; it’s reasonably priced; and they have sweet tea to boot!

It was a foolproof plan… or so I thought.  They offer apples, peaches, blackberries, cherries, or blueberries as toppings for pancakes but not strawberries.  (Their strawberry topping is apparently seasonal.) 

It was after I begged the waitress to scrounge up some strawberries and put them on my pancakes that she asked me if I was “with child.”

I’m not pregnant.  I’ve never been pregnant.  But I’ve also never been without cravings.  I have them constantly. 

Most days, I crave chocolate, salads, and sweet tea.  Hearing someone mention a restaurant (the power of suggestion) will cause me to crave my favorite dish there within a matter of days.  Sometimes I crave pickles, Mexican food, or strawberry pancakes, apparently. 

I don’t know about you, but when I have a craving, that’s the ONLY thing that will satisfy my desire.  The peach pancakes I settled for at Cracker Barrel simply didn’t cut it…pregnancy or not.   

What foods do you crave?

~ by Serena on March 31, 2009.

8 Responses to “Cravings”

  1. oh no, I hope you get some strawberry pancakes soon!

  2. Greek’s pizza. And always on a Monday night…when they’re not open!

  3. Does whiskey count?

  4. When I was pregnant I didn’t have any weird cravings, just cravings at particular times. Early on, it was fruit and potato chips with onion dip. Not at the same time. One time I wanted a chocolate malt really badly so asked Greg to get me one on his way home. He showed up with a plain chocolate SHAKE and boy was I mad! I never had the ice cream craving because, well, I crave ice cream year round anyway.

  5. Yes, I still need my strawberry pancakes.

    I love Greeks too!

    Only you, J.R., would ask if whiskey counts. 🙂

    And I often wonder if pregnancy will enhance or kill my cravings…?

  6. You know i crave nothing more than about 6 eggs and a protein shake. I know simply put “AMAZING……”

  7. first off, Cracker Barrel ROCKS! sooo good.
    secondly, I totally understand. If I ever get something in my head, I can’t stop until whatever is in my head has been satisfied. example: I REALLY wanted to see Ratatoulie on blu-ray one night so I went to EVERY blockbuster in the area until I realized that none of them had it, so I went to best-buy and they didn’t even have it! I was so mad.

  8. […] eagerly order a Caesar salad at a restaurant (to satisfy one of my endless cravings), only to be disappointed.  I’ve actually sent some salads […]

Leave a Reply

 
