Pawpaw

pawpaw3My Pawpaw will turn 81 on Sunday.

Some of my fondest childhood memories are of spending weekends with Grams and Pawpaw.  I loved going fishing with him, helping him feed their geese, watching him solder stained glass, and hearing about how he was shot in the chin with an arrow from an Indian.  (This is actually folklore, but it was his explanation to the grandkids for the dimple in his chin.)

To this day, Pawpaw and I like to lean on each other.  This started years ago when I would sit beside him at church.  He would slowly lean over on me.  As soon as I would shove back, he would tell me that I was a “Pushy Granddaughter.”  My nickname of “Pushy” has stuck.

Pawpaw was a successful salesman at Sears, and he served as the Miami County Commissioner for several years.  Most importantly, he has a deep love for Christ and others.  For years, he and Grams participated in a local prison ministry, where they would visit the jail to talk to inmates about God. 

Grams and Pawpaw migrate to Florida for several months out of the year, so I don’t get to see them as often as I’d like.  But they still hold a very special place in my heart. 

Happy Birthday, Pawpaw!  Your Pushy Granddaughter loves you!

~ by Serena on March 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “Pawpaw”

  1. Sweet. I also have quite the affection for my Papa (sounds the same, spelled differently) 🙂

  2. Thanks, Betsy. I’ve been reading updates on your Papa on your blog. My prayers are with you and your family…

Leave a Reply

 
