The Weak

muscleDo you ever feel weak?

I’m reminded of how physically weak I am each time I have to remove the burly previous user’s 100+ pounds of weights from a machine at the gym before I can use it.

This past weekend, I had the privilege of serving on team for Faith Quest #27.  I served as Chapel Counselor, and most of the weekend I was emotionally weak.  I felt completely unworthy to be called by God, to stand before those youth and somehow spiritually guide them.

As I recalled the weekend recently, my eyes welled up with tears as I thought, God, I don’t deserve for You to use me.  I’m so weak.    

He gently reminded me that He doesn’t use the strong and powerful; He uses the common and weak.  After all, He used Zacchaeus, a tax collector.  Rahab, a prostitute.  Mary, a 13-year-old virgin. 

Jesus, the Son of God, was born in a barn, not a top-notch hospital.  He lay in a cow trough, not a comfortable bassinet.  Later in His life, He rode into Jerusalem on a donkey, not a gallant steed.

Thanks, God, that You use the common and weak… like me.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness.”
-2 Corinthians 12:9

~ by Serena on March 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “The Weak”

  1. Amen. I am always constantly surprised even though God is very consistent in using who and what we would not have thought. I am not surprised however that you were in a position to serve as God’s instrument at Faith Quest again. Your posture allows that verse to manifest such greatness through you. I am inspired. 🙂

  2. Oh, Kelly… I can always count on you for encouragement. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
