Potholes

potholeWith all the freezing and thawing that’s happening as winter becomes spring (!), I’ve noticed significantly more potholes in the roads.  I was driving home from work yesterday when I hit a huge one.  It’s the kind of pothole that jars your whole car and makes you wonder if it messed up your alignment. 

The frustrating thing is that I have hit this stupid crater multiple times in the last several weeks.  It’s the same pothole in the same spot on the same road on my same drive home from work every day, and I still hit it.

Why?  I’m distracted.  I’ll be talking on my cell phone, singing to a song on the radio, or planning a mental grocery list when BAM!  I hit it.  Again.

This tends to be how Satan operates in my life.  I’ll be cruising along, thinking I’m doing well, when BAM!  He hits.  And it’s often the same tactics, the same tricks, the same devices… and each time I fall for it. 

Why?  I’m distracted.  As soon as I take my focus off of where it needs to be (Christ), I fall back in.  Inevitably.

What potholes does Satan use in your life?

“Be self-controlled and alert. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.”  -1 Peter 5:8

~ by Serena on March 20, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
