Desperately Not So Domestic

breeDesperate Housewives is my favorite TV show. 

Bree Hodge, one of the main characters, is a domestic goddess.  She has published an award-winning cookbook and owns a successful catering company.  She’s anal about polishing her silver…and cleaning everything else in her house.  Even her aprons are neatly ironed, I’m sure.

There’s a part of me that desperately wants to be like Bree.  I would love for my home to be as spotless as hers.  Perhaps I would love even more if I could cook fabulous dinner parties and learn the art of having each dish cooked to completion at the same time.

Then again, maybe that’s not where my priorities should be.  I’m reminded of the story of Mary and Martha. 

Mary sat at Jesus’ feet, listening to all that he said, while Martha was rushing around, distracted by all the housework to be done.  I love how Jesus gently reprimands Martha after she complains about Mary’s laziness.  Martha, Martha, the Lord answered. You are worried and upset about many things, but only one thing is needed.  Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her (Luke 10:41-42).   

So perhaps I need to focus less on the state of my home and more on the state of my heart.  And maybe learn some of Bree’s recipes along the way. J

Are you a Mary or a Martha?

~ by Serena on March 18, 2009.

2 Responses to “Desperately Not So Domestic”

  1. why is being a Martha so much easier than being a Mary?

  2. […] As I’ve mentioned before, Desperate Housewives is one of my favorite TV shows.  For the most part, I love laughing at its […]

Leave a Reply

 
