Sophie’s Comfort

SophieMy Sophie has ear mites.  I took her to the vet last week after noticing that she was chronically scratching her right ear.  After getting a cortisone shot, cleaning out her ears, and being treated with a preventative medicine that cures all things evil in cats, Sophie’s probably going to make it…$218 later.

Unfortunately, Sophie acquired some new smells at the vet, so her dear sister Cloe wants nothing to do with her.  They’ve been together almost non-stop since birth, but Cloe doesn’t recognize Sophie with her new scents. 

This IS apparently normal…but incredibly annoying.  My otherwise sweet and playful cat, Cloe, has become a vicious viper.  Poor Sophie now gets hissed and growled at every time she turns around (in addition to dealing with the aftermath of ear mites). 

After spending all day with Cruella Deville (a.k.a. Cloe), Sophie was depressed when I came home from work one day last week.  She didn’t want to play.  She didn’t want a treat.  She slinked around, trying to avoid her sister. 

Sophie followed me from room to room until I settled in on the couch.  She curled up in my arms and stayed there the entire night.  I was her safe haven.  Her home base.  No hissing or growling was going to come upon her while she was in my arms, and she knew it.

Sometimes I forget that I have that same security – in God’s arms.  It doesn’t mean that I’m exempt from evil, but I can find comfort and peace with Him, even in the midst of turmoil. 

“Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort.” -2 Corinthians 1:3

~ by Serena on March 13, 2009.

2 Responses to “Sophie’s Comfort”

  1. just for the record, I appreciate the earmite story. thank you.

  2. […] whether I’m just rambling on about nonsense.  I often think, “Do people really care about my cat’s ear mites, the number of items in my check-out lane at Target, or how I’m self-conscious about having a […]

Leave a Reply

 
