Social Graces

irt*sniff

What’s that smell?!  I thought as I scrunched my nose in disgust.

I was sitting on the front row at the Indiana Repertory Theatre a few weeks ago watching Crime and Punishment, when the stench of sweaty feet hit me.

I glanced to my right only to notice that an elderly man two seats down had slipped off his shoe, crossed his legs, and was playing with his sock.  It didn’t look like he was in pain, just non-chalantly messing with his feet, oblivious to the fact that it was impacting my nasal passages in a negative way. 

I was caught off-guard – by the smell and the act.  After all, we were at a classy theatre hall watching an upscale play.  I kept thinking that his wife would elbow him, but she didn’t.

The very next day I was at the gym when I noticed a guy completely readjusting himself (you know the area I’m referring to).  It wasn’t subtle; it was in the middle of the weight section of the floor, visible to me and a lot of other worker-outers.

What has happened to social graces?

*sigh

~ by Serena on March 12, 2009.

One Response to “Social Graces”

  1. I began laughing as soon as I read this post Serena 🙂 Im sorry you had to endure that odor during the play…I cannot believe his wife did not elbow him!

Leave a Reply

 
