Cats, Trees, and Sheep… Oh My!

cat-in-treeMy friend’s cat got stuck in a tree several weeks ago.  It is speculated that Chloe was chased there by a neighbor’s dog. 

My friend, the owner, called me in a panic.  Chloe’s stuck in a tree…what do I do? 

I offered little insight.  I don’t know…call the fire department? 

He didn’t want to bother the fire department, but he also didn’t want to leave his poor cat stranded on a limb in sub-zero weather.  And so around midnight, he shimmied up the 30-foot tree and rescued Chloe, who is now on house arrest.  (I’m not kidding.)

I was overwhelmed at my friend’s love and concern for his cat.  Initially, he thought he would leave her there, sure that she would find a way down on her own.  But he couldn’t sleep knowing that she wasn’t safely at home. 

I couldn’t help but think of how God is a lot like that.  When one of us, His sheep, goes astray, He will leave 99 others to pursue us.  I’m guessing it wouldn’t matter if it was in a creek, over a mountain, or up a tree.  Thats how much He loves us and wants us safely at home with Him.

“And I pray that you…may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ.” -Ephesians 3:17-18

~ by Serena on March 11, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
