Encouragement

envelopesI love to encourage others. 

Encouragement is my top spiritual gift, and I love exercising it regularly, whether it’s through verbal or written word. 

I have a “card ministry,” where I sit down once a week and write cards to people that God brings to mind.  I’ll send out anywhere from 3-20 cards at a time. 

Sometimes I tell people I’m thinking of them.  Sometimes I send prayers.  Sometimes I encourage the recipient with Bible verses. 

I guess this is a logical “ministry” for me since I love to write – and “words of affirmation” is the love language that I give and receive the best. 

Admittedly, I spend a lot of money on stationary and stamps.  But if I can touch one person through the simple act of sending a card, it’s all worth it.

What are your spiritual gifts?

“We have different gifts, according to the grace given us…if it is encouraging, let him encourage.” -Romans 12:6,8

~ by Serena on March 9, 2009.

3 Responses to “Encouragement”

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I love receiving cards from you – you and my college roommate are the two ladies I know who do this best, and the written words of encouragement are so lovely!

  2. Awww… thanks, Angie! 🙂

  3. Well you can check another off your list…I’m always moved by your words. You’re the best!

Leave a Reply

 
