Filtering

disney_pictures_logoI don’t watch much TV.  I have a few shows that record on my DVR each week – American Idol, Desperate Housewives, and the Office. 

And I don’t really watch that many movies. Outside of Disney ones, my repertoire isn’t very good. 

It’s not that I have anything against entertainment.  I don’t.  I love it. 

I partake of movies and TV shows as an escape, something I can crash on the couch and mindlessly watch as I try to unwind before bed.

But I’ve learned that if I watch shows like CSI, Criminal Minds, or Law & Order, I’ll often have nightmares (about dead people, not surprisingly).  If I watch The Bachelor, I find myself pining over dates and relationships that aren’t based in reality (in my own humble opinion). 

I chose to not watch the movie Fireproof (despite its esteem among Christian circles) because I often struggle to watch marital conflict (for obvious reasons).    

I choose to shield my eyes from thoughts that Satan could use against me.  I guess it’s my own “filtering” system that I use to try to protect my mind.

I can’t help but think of a song I learned at church growing up.  Oh, be careful little eyes what you see.  Oh, be careful little eyes what you see.  For the Father up above is looking down with love.  Oh, be careful little eyes what you see.

Are you careful to protect your little eyes and mind?

“Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.” -Philippians 4:8

~ by Serena on March 4, 2009.

7 Responses to “Filtering”

  1. We “filter” our visual entertainment as well. That is one of the primary reasons we dropped cable (along with the financial savings). We didn’t need to be spending so much time watching tv shows, especially ones that were less than uplifting. Now we focus more on watching PBS, CreateTV, News and DVDs we own. The only show we watch regularly on TV is American Idol. We have begun purchasing TV series we like on DVD (Eureka currently). We also find this helps us filter out commercials which need the most filtering these days.

  2. Good for you! Eureka?

  3. Eureka is a quirky and geeky show from SciFi that Angie and I both love. We are watching the 2nd Season DVDs now. http://www.scifi.com/eureka/

  4. Eureka has been fun – quirky but fun. (You know us – it fits. 🙂 My only weekly show to watch is AI – I’m rooting for Scott M.! The girls and I watched The Sound of Music on Sunday afternoon – T.R. has seen it enough times, he decided. 🙂 (I’m sure he was correct, though I still haven’t seen it enough times. Ever.) And you know, life without cable has been just fine.

  5. Phil 4:8 is one of my favorite verses! I have it written on a post-it note tapes to my computer at the office for a daily reminder 🙂

  6. Serena! This is the biggest step to freedom for you, I PROMISE. You should consider doing a talk on this at one of your retreats. There is LOTS in the bible on this. One of my favorite scriptures, besides the one you mention is (pardon my inability to quote where it is) but it discusses the fact that we should take captive every thought and make it bow to God which was a huge step in my recovery. This is huge…congrats girl 🙂

  7. Ugh… easier said than done. I’m working on it! Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
