Tiffany

crossAt 11-years-old, Tiffany was one of the youngest and smallest campers this weekend.

She came running up to me on Friday night after my first talk and asked, Can I have your autograph?  I laughed because I thought she was kidding.  (She wasn’t.)

On Saturday morning, she bounced up to me with big eyes before breakfast to ask if I was an author.  My friend wants to know if you’ve written a book.  I hated to burst her bubble, but I explained that though I have a few chapters written, I’m not a published author.  Yet.

Tiffany still must have thought I was cool because she wanted me to sit at her table for dinner on Saturday night.  I struck up conversation with her. 

Do you have brothers and sisters, Tiffany?  It’s a fairly simple question, but I wasn’t prepared for the answer.

I have two step brothers and two step sisters.  And a sister in California and a brother who doesn’t live with us because he tried to kill my mom.  She continued talking in a completely casual tone, but I didn’t hear a word she said.  Instead, I tried to keep my jaw from hitting my plate.

I asked one of her youth leaders about it later.  It’s true, she said.  Her brother tried to kill her mom and sister, so he has been in foster homes.  Tiffany’s mom has been in and out of jail for child abuse.

My heart broke for this precious girl who has had more drama in her world than I can even begin to imagine. 

Too often, I take my upbringing for granted.

God, please protect Tiffany and keep her safe in Your arms.  Thanks for placing me in a stable, Christian family with loving parents.

~ by Serena on February 25, 2009.

2 Responses to “Tiffany”

  1. I love this blog. I had no idea that a little girl could be so strong. I just want to say thank you for sharing this story and i would also like to take this opportunity to tell you what a wonderful jub you did interacting with the kids, i think that maybe you did a little more interacting then you think

  2. […] 2009 was a year of highs and lows.  I spoke at retreats, worked out (perhaps obsessively), faced big decisions, turned 28, hosted Sojourn, cheered on the […]

Leave a Reply

 
