To Do

post-itI live by a “To Do” list.  My world revolves around sticky notes and my Palm Pilot. 

One of my favorite things in the world is to cross tasks off my “To Do” list.  It gives me a sense of accomplishment.  (Yes, I’m one of those people who will write something I’ve already done on the list just so I can cross it off.  It’s a sickness, I know.)

I usually have a “To Do” list running in my head, even when it’s not written down.  Walking through my apartment on any given day, I’m overwhelmed with reminders.  Seeing litter all over my kitchen floor reminds me that I need to empty the litter box (and sweep the floor)…again.  Seeing my overflowing laundry basket reminds me that I probably should put in a load of wash…or 5.  Seeing my Bible on my bedstand reminds me that I haven’t cracked it open in a few days.

Reading my Bible is not something that I want to become a “chore” or just another activity that I cross off my “To Do” list, and yet it often is.  I want to crave it, to desire it, to miss my time with God when I don’t make it a priority. 

Psalm 42:1 says, “As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God.”  How do I get my soul to PANT for Him?  When I think of panting, it’s usually associated with a dog that has just exerted all its energy.  It’s parched.  

I don’t want my soul to reach a place of dryness before I reach out to Him with such zeal.  And yet that’s often what it takes for me get on my knees and beg for more of Him.  Maybe I shouldn’t wait for my gas tank to be on empty before I fill up…

Does your soul pant for Him?

~ by Serena on February 23, 2009.

4 Responses to “To Do”

  1. “(Yes, I’m one of those people who will write something I’ve already done on the list just so I can cross it off. It’s a sickness, I know.)”

    I didn’t know other people did that!

    “Reading my Bible is not something that I want to become a “chore” or just another activity that I cross off my “To Do” list, and yet it often is.”

    Maybe instead of thinking of it like a chore, rather, schedule it in sometime each day. I read that somewhere. The person would schedule “God” in his/her planner at a particular time each day, and if anyone suggested a meeting or anything at that time, he/she would say no because he already had an appointment scheduled.

  2. I can’t believe you do that too! 🙂

    Maybe I’ll schedule in some time. Good thoughts, Kelly… thanks!

  3. I pretty much live by “to-do” lists. Not because I love them (though I do love the thrill of striking through a task completed), but because I have the worst memory on earth. If I don’t write it down, I will forget to do it 75% of the time. So I guess the better statement is, my wife loves that I make to-do lists. And by love, I mean requires.

  4. […] As mentioned previously, I live by my To Do lists.  […]

Leave a Reply

 
