Nieces and Names

img_2646I begged my niece all summer to say my name.  Realizing “Serena” can be hard to pronounce, I decided that “Aunt Shoe” would suffice if I could get her to say that.  No such luck.  I had no identity in her little world.

In September I watched my niece overnight.  I arrived at her house, only for her to come running up to me with outstretched arms. “Senna!  Senna!”  It was music to my ears.

I heard it a lot that weekend.  Every time I left the room, she would toddle behind me, and I would hear, “Senna?”  I loved it.

About a month later, our family gathered for our annual Christmas in October (we’re weird, I know).  When Anna came in, she went around the room saying everyone’s name, surprisingly clearly.  Without hesitation, she said “Suh-Renna!”  My eyes welled up with tears.

Even now, months later, hearing her say my name still doesn’t get old.  She knows me.  She recognizes me.  She knows my name.

In the Bible, God is referred to by over 100 different names.  Alpha.  Omega.  Emmanuel.  Counselor.  Mighty God.  Prince of Peace.  Everlasting Father.  Lion of Judah.  And the list goes on…

As a child, I used to wonder why God needed so many names.  Now I understand how each name reflects different aspects of His incredible character.   

I can’t imagine how much MORE joy God must get from hearing us, His beloved children, utter His name…even more than I get from hearing my adorable niece say mine.

Happy 2nd Birthday, Anna!  I love you!

~ by Serena on February 20, 2009.

3 Responses to “Nieces and Names”

  1. Aww! I hear you about loving your niece!

  2. “Aunt Shoe”…I love it!

    The adult/child connection is a great one. I know that in the last year and a half since my son was born, I feel like I’ve gotten more insight on the “God as parent” concept than I have in my entire life.

  3. Most kids when they’re learning my name often call me Uncle Cow Wool. LOL. Because hey, you say “Cow Wool” fast enough it starts to sound like “Kiel.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
