Change… Is Good?

alarm-clockMy alarm clock broke last week.

We’ve been through a lot together, my alarm clock and I: mornings when I forget to set it, mornings when I hit snooze, mornings when I want to beat it to death at its mere beeping. 

As sad as I was, the show had to go on…so I went on a quest to find a new one.  My criteria seemed simple enough: 2 alarm settings and the ability to wake me with a sound other than buzzing.  (I don’t know about you, but it’s not necessarily a joyful noise that I love waking up to each morning.)

After searching unsuccessfully at several stores (options were too old school simple or too incredibly expensive), I found a steal of a deal at Kohls (of all places). 

My new Homedics alarm clock has more gadgets and gizmos than I’m used to.  It even has the ability to port an iPod, if/when I should splurge someday.  Best of all?  I awoke this morning to the serene sounds of waves crashing onto the beach.    

So with my new handy, dandy alarm clock in place, why did I cringe when it came to throwing away my old, broken one?  For that matter, why do I still wear my swishy black Adidas warm-up pants that I’ve had since high school?  And why do I insist on sleeping in a cheerleading t-shirt from junior high?  (In my own defense, it’s the softest t-shirt I’ve ever owned.)

Change is good, an Arby’s commercial coined several years ago.  But that doesn’t mean it’s easy, even when it’s something as simple as changing alarm clocks. 

Does this mean I’m getting old…since I’m resisting “new tricks?”

~ by Serena on February 13, 2009.

One Response to “Change… Is Good?”

  1. […] world is turning upside down in the next few days.  For a girl who doesn’t necessarily like change, it has been a bit […]

Leave a Reply

 
