Thank You

thank-you-noteThank you.  It’s a sentence comprised of two fairly simple words, yet its meaning is enormous.

Have you ever done something especially nice for someone and NOT received a “thank you” in return?  This happened to me recently.  I went out of my way to do something kind for someone (who shall remain nameless), only to be met with an ungrateful, entitled attitude.  It wasn’t a small act (like opening a door); there was definite effort involved.

I’m not even talking about not receiving a thank you note.  I don’t expect that.  I mean, the words “thank you” were never even uttered. My gesture was completely disregarded. 

Have you ever been in a similar situation?  It feels like a slap in the face, doesn’t it?  Like the effort you put into it was worthless.  

And yet how often do I do this to God? 

The words to the song Blessed Be Your Name come to mind, Every blessing You pour out, I’ll turn back to praise.  But so often I forget to thank Him for the sunshine peeking through the clouds, an unexpected card from a friend in the mail, a good parking spot on a busy day at the mall…

Forgive me, Lord, for being so ungrateful…

~ by Serena on February 11, 2009.

5 Responses to “Thank You”

  1. so simple, yet evidently so hard to remember these days. Because I’m sure I owe you one or two…hundred…or thousand…

    thank you!

    and yes, it is someone like you who is so kind, willing, and helpful who doesn’t hear those two little words enough.

  2. You weren’t the nameless person… just for the record. But you’re welcome anyway. 🙂

  3. Ahhhh…isn’t it great when we don’t get a “Thank you?” Anger, frustration, hurt, abandonment, even victim comes to mind, and its justified…right? I can’t help to think of the love we are called to show as believers and how far short we all fall…I’m with Serena! Lord have mercy on my ungratefulness!!!

  4. Ummmm, so I hope that person who shall remain nameless wasn’t me. Ha ha! Thanks for all your hard work (and for bringing me Sweet Tea)!

  5. You’re welcome for the sweet tea. But you weren’t the culprit. The “nameless person” still remains silent. Probably obliviously. Oh well…

Leave a Reply

 
