Thank You For Not Smoking

smokingI was driving to work last week when I glanced over at another driver who was happily sucking on a cigarette.  Don’t you know smoking is bad for you?  I thought as I shook my head.

I’ve never understood smoking.  Those who partake claim that it’s a nervous habit and can have a calming effect.  But it stinks;  it’s expensive; and it makes your lungs black.

Then it hit me.  How many things do I do that are bad for me?  More than I care to admit. 

Even though I’ve never puffed on a rolled up piece of tobacco (or any other substance, for that matter), my Starbucks frappucinos are loaded with sugar.  And I don’t even want to know how much fat/grease was in the pizza I ate last night for dinner.  Or what about the loaded-with-artery-filling-goodness alfredo sauce from Olive Garden that I crave? 

Yeah, none of those can be good for me either.  Oh, but they taste so good…

What things do you do that aren’t good for your body?

“Therefore, I urge you, to present your bodies as a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God.” -Romans 12:1

~ by Serena on January 23, 2009.

One Response to “Thank You For Not Smoking”

  1. Confession – I love women who smoke… Granted, I don’t want the “stank” in my house, car, or on my clothes…but there is something supremely sexy about a woman who caresses her lips with a ciggy. I can’t figure if its the elegance (I know…I’ve probably watched too many black and whites from the 20’s) or the utter defiance which seduces me…in trending to historical absence of goodness – thus the latter.

Leave a Reply

 
