Calling

doorOur pastor preached a series of sermons about Moses in June.  Moses clearly had objections to God’s call on his life, yet God used him anyway.  As our pastor closed a service, he said something like, “There are those of you who know what your calling is, but you’re not pursuing it for whatever reason.  Get over it, and let God use you.” 

He was talking to me.  I’ve felt for years that God has called me to some sort of public speaking ministry.  But for most of those years, I ignored the call, sure that it wouldn’t happen for another 20 years down the road.  After all, who’s going to listen to a 27-year-old divorced girl?

That night, I surrendered.  Okay, God.  I’ll do this if You want me to, but You have to open the doors because I don’t even know where to look.

It was just a few days later that I was asked to serve on team for Faith Quest #26 and give a talk on Singleness.  I eagerly accepted.

About a month later, I visited the church where I grew up.  After the service, the pastor asked if I would preach for him in his absence on August 24.  I did…and spoke on calling.

In September, I was asked to be the keynote speaker for a weekend youth retreat in February.  I agreed…and am preparing now for my three sessions.

A few weeks ago I received a call (no pun intended) asking me to serve on the next team for Faith Quest and…you guessed it… give another talk.

I’ve been completely and utterly overwhelmed at how He has opened doors.  I shouldn’t be, though.  God answers prayers and uses the willing.

What is your calling?  What’s preventing you from pursuing it?

~ by Serena on January 21, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
