Butt Kicking

ellipticalsI joined a gym recently.  It’s not something I planned to do, but I did.

I used to work out at the gym in my apartment complex.  It’s small – offering only a handful of treadmills, 3 ellipticals, 1 bike, and some outdated weight machines.  It served me well, and perhaps most importantly, it was free.

A spiffy, new gym opened near my house, and I received a promotion in the mail about its Grand Opening.  I went and got the complimentary tour, complete with a free workout session.  Not only were there aisles and aisles of treadmills, ellipticals, and bikes, each one had its own personal TV for my viewing pleasure!  They offered classes, tanning, and personal training. 

I have to admit, it kicked my sweet little gym’s butt.  And so I joined. 

Conscious that I’m now paying to use this beautiful facility, I frequent it often.  I’ve taken advantage of some personal training, which has kicked my butt. 

I was comfortable with my usual cardio routine (running an hour – or, for variety, running, biking, and elliptical-ing).  But Eric, my personal trainer, likes to push me.  He has introduced me to the joy of lifting weights.  And running more than 5.0 miles per hour.

Most days, I’ll be sure that my body has no more energy to do whatever he’s demanding of me.  “Come on, you can do it!  5 more reps!”  No, I can’t. “Yes, you can!”

Last week, I informed Eric, If I keep running, I’m going to throw up on you!  He didn’t seem to care, and he made me finish my routine anyway.  (Just for the record, I didn’t throw up, but I was sure close.)

Even on days when I don’t work with him, Eric has provided me with a scheduled workout plan.  I had it in my hot little hand a few weeks ago as I went to tackle it solo for the first time.  Wouldn’t you know, I gave up well before my workout was over.  I wasn’t even close to completing it.  Why?  I didn’t have my support system.

I realized why people hire personal trainers in the first place… they push you.  They encourage you.  They make you try harder.

I couldn’t help but think, in life isn’t that what good friends are for?  They become our personal cheerleaders when we don’t think we can go on.  They encourage us to keep going, even when things get tough.  They challenge us to be better.

I’ve been so blessed to have rich friendships in my life, people surrounding me who have helped hold my arms (like Aaron and Hur did for Moses in Exodus 17) when I couldn’t.  I’m not going to give names in fear of leaving someone out, but you know who you are.  Thank you for being in my life, for being my cheerleaders, my encouragers, my support system… and those who kick me in the butt when I need it. J

~ by Serena on January 16, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
