The Blog

Pen Paper“I love your blog!  I tune in weekly to see what you’re up to,” I told John, a dear friend of mine from Faith Quest and recent blog enthusiast.

“Thanks,” he said. “You’re a writer.  Do you have a blog?”

I danced around how I’m a private person and am not sure I want to put my life “out there” for everyone to read.  “And, honestly, I don’t really like the idea of my ex-husband finding it and reading it.”

Without a beat, he said, “So you’re still letting him control you, huh?”

*Speechless.

Guilty as charged.

It was less than a week later when over coffee another friend, Rana, asked me a similar question.  “Do you have a blog?  You totally should!”’

Blogging is an idea I’ve toyed with for quite some time.  I love to write, so I’m taking the plunge… 

Thanks for reading. 

 

This blog is dedicated to John and Rana, friends who encouraged me, inspired me, and kicked me in the pants to do this. J

~ by Serena on January 11, 2009.

11 Responses to “The Blog”

  1. I love John and Rana already. 🙂 I’m so glad you’re writing this and I can’t wait to read more. And please, more pictures of your fabulous shoes. I “shop” vicariously. 😉

  2. SERENA….YEAH!!!!!! You’re such a good writer too! You’re going to love this, hopefully you’re time will allow you to be able to keep up with it, as mine has fallen by the wayside. I’ll get back to it eventually.

    Oh and LUV the shoes!!!! 🙂

  3. While I am excited to hear that you have a blog because of the fact that will only help us to stay in touch somewhat better then we do, I am very disappointed that you decided to put shoes all over you blog. I would much prefer you actually put something that isn’t so gender specific…. Well I supposed there are some out there that would argue the fact that it is gender specific, but you get my drift. Sorry I had to be a hater!

  4. Serena,

    I love your blog! I’m so proud of you for stepping out and putting yourself out there, that’s huge! Not to mention, it’s so well written.

    The shoes are adorable but I would Never be able to wear them myself! haha!

    God Bless!

  5. It’s easy to feel vulnerable putting yourself out there for lots of other to see. But I’m glad you’re doing it – I hope you find it to be as enjoyable as I have!

  6. Look at you go, girl! I love the shoe photos. They reek of your persona: smart, fun and stylish! I remember meeting you for the first time. You donned the green pair, third from the right. I admit to being impressed and intimidated. I thought to myself, “here’s a woman that knows exactly what she wants and will get it.” A pretty powerful statement to me. As I’ve gotten to know you more over the years, that statement still rings true.
    I’m glad to see you doing this for yourself. Be free and have fun!

  7. welcome welcome welcome. i put this site in my fav. blogs to check daily. i look forward to another great FQ weekend. catch ya later:)

  8. Serena,
    I am so excited to read your blog, and now you can motivate me to keep updating mine 🙂 Love the shoes, and I see two pair that I have as well. Oh, how I love Cole Hann!

  9. I am so glad you have a blog, now, too!! Thanks for letting me know! 🙂 It will be fun to keep up with you this way. Also, are you on Facebook?…..(my new addiction–j/k)

  10. […] Starting my Blog – In January, I launched godandshoes.  It has become a fun outlet for my writing and a way to quasi-stay connected with family and friends. […]

Leave a Reply

 
